SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER FOR EXCLUSIVE UPDATES ON NEW INDUCTEES AND CEREMONIES
Retourner

L’icône de la musique du monde Loreena McKennitt intronisée au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
La vedette internationale et auteure-compositrice-interprète acclamée par la critique dont les albums se sont écoulés à plus de 14 millions d’exemplaires à travers le monde sera honorée dans le cadre de la toute première édition des Women in Music Canada Honours qui aura lieu lors de la Journée internationale de la femme le 8 mars

Toronto, ON, le 1er mars 2023 – Le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (PACC) est heureux d’annoncer la première intronisation de sa cohorte de 2023, l’auteure-compositrice-interprète fusion celtique Loreena McKennitt. Son écriture magistrale, sa voix de soprano éthérée et ses arrangements imaginatifs qui combinent sa passion pour la musique celtique traditionnelle à différentes saveurs de musique du monde ont forgé son propre genre distinctif, le « celtique éclectique ».

Le PACC rendra hommage à Loreena McKennitt le mercredi 8 mars au Opera House de Toronto pour célébrer son répertoire estimé créé au fil de près de quatre décennies. Cette intronisation sera l’un des moments forts de l’événement Women in Music Canada Honours. Cette première édition du programme célèbre et soutient les innovatrices et les créatrices canadiennes qui ont connu un succès remarquable dans leur domaine.

« Loreena est une énigme musicale et ses chansons sont aussi intemporelles qu’elles sont actuelles, traditionnelles et originales. Elle est une conteuse capable de traverser les époques, les cultures et de transcender les frontières », déclare Stan Meissner, président du Conseil du PACC. « Loreena a connu un succès mondial à ses conditions à elle et elle est demeurée inébranlable en tant qu’artiste indépendante, ce qui est à la fois admirable et digne de reconnaissance. »

« Je suis profondément honorée de recevoir cette reconnaissance », a déclaré Loreena. « Depuis 25 ans, cette organisation fait preuve d’un profond dévouement dans le but de célébrer et promouvoir les auteur·e·s-compositeur·rice·s canadien·e·s et le riche héritage musical de ce pays. Leur travail nous a tous enrichis. Je suis vraiment privilégiée de voir mon nom s’ajouter à cette illustre liste d’auteur·e·s-compositeur·rice·s canadien·e·s.

Loreena McKennitt a déménagé de Winnipeg à Stratford, ON, en 1981 et a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’actrice, chanteuse et compositrice pour le Festival de Stratford, apparaissant dans The Tempest (1982) et The Two Gentlemen of Verona (1984). Après avoir appris à jouer de la harpe troubadour, elle s’est lancée, en 1985, dans une carrière musicale solo, fondant son label Quinlan Road et finançant son premier enregistrement, “Elemental”, inspiré de l’Irlande, en étant musicienne de rue à Toronto.

McKennitt a décidé très tôt de concentrer son écriture sur sa passion, la musique celtique, plutôt que sur l’écriture de chansons autobiographiques. Les chansons originales de McKennitt et ses arrangements musicaux habiles de classiques de la poésie anglaise et irlandaise comme Lady of Shalott de Tennyson et Stolen Child de W. B. Yeats, relèvent à la fois de la musique du monde, du folk roots et de la vague celtique, avec une finesse classique.

Après avoir conclu une entente de distribution avec Warner Music Canada, elle a remporté son premier prix JUNO en 1992 pour l’album multiplatine “The Visit”, et en 1995 elle a remporté son deuxième JUNO dans la catégorie Meilleur album roots pour “The Mask and Mirror”, qui explore les liens entre les musiques celtes, espagnoles et arabes. Elle a récolté un total de 11 nominations aux JUNO, dont trois pour Meilleure chanteuse ainsi que celle de l’Artiste de l’année en 2007.

Elle enchaînera avec “The Book of Secrets” et son simple The Mummers’ Dance, finaliste aux JUNOs, dont le refrain est emprunté à une chanson traditionnelle de l’Oxfordshire. L’album est devenu son plus performant sur les palmarès en se rendant en troisième position de Billboard et s’écoulant à plus de quatre millions d’exemplaires dans le monde, dont plus de deux millions aux États-Unis. Son succès The Mummers’s Dance a remporté un BMI Award et a été sacré Classique de la SOCAN.

L’album proposa des fusions imaginatives typiques de McKennitt en tant que polyinstrumentiste, combinant claviers, harpe et guitares acoustiques et électriques avec des instruments de musique du monde (bodhran, bouzouki, kanoun, oud, tabla, etc.) et des instruments de musique ancienne (vielle à roue, viole de gambe, chalemie). Ses albums suivants, “An Ancient Muse” et “Troubadours on the Rhine”, ont tous deux été finalistes aux GRAMMY® Awards.

McKennitt a vendu plus de 14 millions de disques dans le monde entier. Disponibles dans plus de 40 pays, ses albums ont été salués par la critique internationale et ont été certifiés Or, Platine et multi-Platine dans 15 pays sur quatre continents, dont le Canada, les États-Unis, l’Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Brésil, la France, l’Espagne, l’Italie, la Turquie et la Grèce.

Elle a également composé de la musique pour plusieurs films. Ses premières compositions à l’image incluent la série Women and Spirituality de l’Office national du film (1989-1993) et Léolo (1992) de Jean-Claude Lauzon. McKennitt a contribué à la fois à la musique et à la narration des films Disney Santa Clause (1994) et Tinker Bell (2008).

En 2021, Loreena McKennitt a marqué le 30e anniversaire de son album “The Visit” avec le lancement d’un coffret Definitive Edition incluant des documents d’archives. Elle a récemment terminé sa tournée “Under a Winter’s Moon” et a sorti un nouvel album du même titre qui comprend des chants de Noël et des lectures par l’acteur autochtone Tom Jackson, l’acteur lauréat du prix Gemini Cedric Smith et l’artiste et flûtiste Ojibway Jeffrey “Red” George.

Après son intronisation à Toronto, une exposition permanente sera consacrée à Loreena au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens au Centre national de musique à Calgary. Cette année marquera le 25e anniversaire du Panthéon et de sa mission de célébrer les plus grands auteurs et compositeurs du Canada.

À PROPOS DU PANTHÉON DES AUTEURS ET COMPOSITEURS CANADIENS

Le Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens (PACC) honore et célèbre les auteurs et compositeurs canadiens et ceux qui ont consacré leur vie à l’héritage de la musique, et sa mission est de sensibiliser le public à leurs réalisations. Organisme national sans but lucratif, le PACC est dirigé par son propre conseil d’administration composé de créateurs et d’éditeurs de musique francophones et anglophones, ainsi que de représentants de l’industrie du disque. En décembre 2011, la SOCAN (Société canadienne des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique) a fait l’acquisition du PACC. Le mandat du Panthéon est conforme aux objectifs du PACC en tant qu’association fondée sur ses membres auteurs-compositeurs et éditeurs. Le PACC continue d’être géré en tant qu’entreprise indépendante. cshfdev.wpenginepowered.com

-30 –

Contact média :
Tran Nguyen, Centric PR
tran@centricpr.ca
c/416-220-4285

Dernières nouvelles
le 17 octobre, 2022

« Chapeau » à Lighthouse: Ralph Cole, Paul Hoffert, Bob McBride et Skip (Ronald Harry) Prokop sont les plus récents intronisés au Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens

Communiqués de presse
le 26 septembre, 2022

Prestations et hommages inoubliables lors du gala du Panthéon des auteurs et compositeurs canadiens en l’honneur de ses nouveaux membres

Communiqués de presse

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER FOR EXCLUSIVE UPDATES ON NEW INDUCTEES AND CEREMONIES
Go back

World Music Icon Loreena McKennitt to be Inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
Global critically acclaimed singer-songwriter who has sold more than 14 million albums worldwide will be recognized at the Inaugural Women in Music Canada Honours event on International Women’s Day, March 8th

Toronto, ON (March 1, 2023) – The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) is pleased to announce its first Inductee to the Class of 2023 – celebrated Celtic fusion singer-songwriter Loreena McKennitt.  Her masterful songwriting, ethereal soprano voice, and imaginative arrangements that combine her passion for traditional Celtic music with world music influences, have forged her own distinctive genre of ‘eclectic Celtic.’

The CSHF will honour Loreena McKennitt on Wednesday, March 8th at the Opera House in Toronto to celebrate her esteemed catalogue spanning nearly four decades.  The Induction presentation will be one of the highlights of the Women in Music Canada Honours event. The inaugural program celebrates and supports female Canadian innovators and creators who have had outstanding success in their field.

“Loreena is a musical enigma whose songs are seamlessly timeless yet current; rooted in tradition yet inventive.  She is a storyteller who can weave through eras, cultures, and transcend boundaries,” says Stan Meissner, Board Chairman, CSHF.  “Loreena has achieved global success on her own terms and has remained steadfast as an independent recording artist, which is both admirable and deserving of recognition.”

“I am deeply honoured to be receiving this recognition,” says Loreena. “For 25 years this organization has shown a deep devotion to celebrating and promoting Canadian songwriters and this country’s rich, musical legacy. We have all been enriched by their work. I feel so privileged to have my name added to their list of distinguished Canadian songwriters.”

Loreena McKennitt relocated from Winnipeg to Stratford, ON in 1981, and began her career as an actress, singer, and composer for the Stratford Festival, appearing in The Tempest (1982) and The Two Gentlemen of Verona (1984).  In 1985, she learned to play the troubadour harp and embarked on a solo music career, founding her Quinlan Road label and financing her Irish-based debut recording, “Elemental,” by busking in Toronto.

Early on, McKennitt decided to focus her songwriting on her passion, Celtic music, rather than autobiographical songwriting.  Her original songs and her skilful musical arrangements of time-honoured English and Irish poems, such as Tennyson’s Lady of Shalott and W.B. Yeats’s Stolen Child, were part world music, folk-roots and Celtic Wave infused with a classical finesse.

After forging a distribution deal with Warner Music Canada, she won her first JUNO Award in 1992 for the multi-platinum album “The Visit,” and her second JUNO win for Best Roots Album came in 1995 for for “The Mask and Mirror,” exploring Celtic connections to Spanish and Arab music.  She has garnered a total of 11 JUNO nominations, including three for Best Female Vocalist and Artist of the Year in 2007.

She followed this with “The Book of Secrets” and its JUNO-nominated single The Mummers’ Dance, its chorus borrowed from a traditional Oxfordshire song. The album became her highest-charting effort, at No. 3 on Billboard and selling over four million copies worldwide, of which over two million were in the United States. Her hit The Mummers’ Dance earned a BMI Award and is now a SOCAN Classic.

The album featured McKennitt’s inventive fusion treatments as a multi-instrumentalist, combining keyboards, harp, and acoustic and electric guitars with world-music instruments (bodhran, bouzouki, kanoun, oud, tabla, etc.) and early-music instruments (hurdy gurdy, viola de gamba, shawm).  Her subsequent albums “An Ancient Muse” and “Troubadours on the Rhine” both earned GRAMMY® nominations.

McKennitt has sold more than 14 million records world-wide. Available in more than 40 countries, her albums have garnered critical international acclaim, and gold, platinum, and multi-platinum awards in 15 countries across four continents including Canada, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Brazil, France, Spain, Italy, Turkey, and Greece.

She has also composed music for a wide range of films. Her first screen credits include the National Film Board of Canada’s Women and Spirituality series (1989 – 1993) and Jean-Claude Lauzon’s Léolo (1992). McKennitt contributed both music and narration for Disney’s Santa Clause (1994) and Tinker Bell (2008).

In 2021 McKennitt marked the 30-year anniversary of her ground-breaking album “The Visit” by releasing a special Definitive Edition package including archival materials. She recently wrapped her “Under a Winter’s Moon” Tour and released a new album of the same title featuring carols and readings by Indigenous actor Tom Jackson, Gemini award-winning actor Cedric Smith, and Ojibway artist and flautist Jeffrey “Red” George.

Following her induction presentation in Toronto, a permanent exhibit will be dedicated to Loreena at the   Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame at the National Music Centre in Calgary.  This year the CSHF will mark its 25th anniversary of celebrating Canada’s greatest songwriters and Inductees.

ABOUT CANADIAN SONGWRITERS HALL OF FAME

The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) honours and celebrates Canadian songwriters and those who’ve dedicated their lives to the legacy of music; and works to educate the public about these achievements. National and non-profit, the CSHF is guided by its own Board of Directors, who comprise both Anglophone and Francophone music creators and publishers, as well as representation from the record industry. In December of 2011, SOCAN (the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada) acquired the CSHF. The Hall of Fame’s mandate aligns with SOCAN’s objectives as a songwriter and publisher membership-based organization. The CSHF continues to be run as a separate organization. cshfdev.wpenginepowered.com

-30-

Media Contact:
Tran Nguyen, Centric PR
tran@centricpr.ca
c/416-220-4285

 

 

Latest News
October 17, 2022

“Hats Off” to Lighthouse: Ralph Cole, Paul Hoffert, Bob McBride, and Skip (Ronald Harry) Prokop, are the Newest Inductees to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases
September 26, 2022

Unforgettable Performances and Tributes From Canada’s Biggest Night in Music Honouring 2022 Inductees to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame

Media Releases