Michel Rivard, Marjo and Jean Millaire to be inducted into the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame through the Legends series on October 11 at Espace St-Denis in Montréal

2022 Inductees
Bryan Adams
Bryan Adams holds a pre-eminent place atop the Canadian and international rock music scenes. He’s won a Grammy Award, 20 JUNOs, and 21 SOCAN Awards, and been inducted into Canada’s Music Hall of Fame, the Canadian and Hollywood Walks of Fame, and the Order of Canada, among other honours.
Jim Vallance
Jim Vallance is one of Canada’s most renowned behind-the-scenes songwriters. Vallance has had a hand in crafting songs recorded and released by worldwide stars such as Heart, Rod Stewart, Aerosmith, Joan Jett, Tina Turner, and Rod Stewart among many others.
Alanis Morissette
Alanis Morissette has led the way for a generation of songwriters since the release of Jagged Little Pill in 1995. Co-written with producer Glen Ballard, Pill topped the Billboard 200 album chart, yielding three Modern Rock No. 1 singles, and making Morissette the first artist to sell more than two million copies in Canada. She’s won 7 Grammy Awards and 15 JUNOs over the years, and her 12 albums have sold more than 60 million copies.
David Foster
David Foster is one of the most successful songwriters and record producers in history, shepherding albums that have collectively sold in the hundreds of millions. Foster has created hit songs and award-winning gold and platinum albums for Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, and more. He’s won 16 Grammy Awards, an Emmy Award, and received countless major honours.
Daniel Lavoie
Daniel Lavoie wrote a truly eternal classic with “Ils s’aiment.” Following a TV appearance in France in 1984, “Ils s’aiment” sold 27,000 records in one day. The French declared it “The Song of the Century”. In 1988, he joined Sting, Peter Gabriel, and Bruce Springsteen at the Olympic Stadium in Montréal in a benefit concert for Amnesty International. He’s one of the most esteemed Francophone singer-songwriters of his generation.
Murray McLauchlan
Murray McLauchlan is the winner of an enviable 11 JUNO awards and composer of over 35 hit singles including the SOCAN Classics Farmer’s Song, Down by the Henry Moore, and Try Walkin’ Away. His hit recordings have earned him the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award, SOCAN’s National Achievement Award, and places in the Canadian Country Music and Mariposa Folk Foundation halls of fame. He is a member of the Order of Canada.
Known for its joyous jazz-rock fusion sound, Lighthouse is a rock band unlike any other. Earning multiple Juno awards and charting numerous hits, Lighthouse deserves its place as one of Canada’s most beloved bands. The legacy of its songs coupled with its superb musicianship has continued to excite fans since reuniting in 1992.
Sylvain Lelièvre
Sylvain Lelièvre was a songwriter, poet, performer, teacher, and self-taught musician whose passion for music was triggered by the film “The Eddy Duchin Story”. He is a significant figure in Québec, best known for his poetry, music, and collaborations with artists such as Daniel Lavoie. He is the recipient of multiple Félix Awards, and his legacy continues to live on to this day.
Our Mandate
« Our mandate is to honour and celebrate Canadian songwriters and those who have dedicated their lives to the legacy of music, and to educate the public about their achievements. »
Inducted Songwriters and Individuals
Inducted Songs
Induction Ceremonies
Alfred Bryan
Featured Inductee

Alfred Bryan was undoubtedly a monumental contributor to Canadian songwriting.

read more
Latest News
December 15, 2023

Snow talks newly-inducted CSHF song “Informer”, collaborations and new music

December 04, 2023

The Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Remembers Myles Goodwyn, 2023 CSHF Inductee, Songwriter, Producer, and Founder of April Wine

Our Partners